Log in

Georgia Emergency Medical Services Association

Log in

2024 EMS Awards Reception

Tuesday, March 26, 2024, 7 pm
Location: Legacy Lodge at Lake Lanier, 7000 Lanier Islands Pkwy, Buford, GA 30518 

GEMSA will be hosting its annual awards reception on Tuesday, March 26, 2024 in conjunction with the 2024 GEMSA Directors & Leadership Conference.  

The 2023 award finalists in each category will be recognized, and the 2023 award winners will be announced.  Hor d'oeuvres will be provided. 

Registration & Costs:

EMS Awards Reception: $25 per ticket
(Tickets are not included with a conference registration.)

Complete your registration using the link on the right. Payments can be made online with your registration or mailed to the GEMSA office.

Please RSVP your attendance and submit payment by March 20, 2024.

Payment is due in advance. If payment is not received, your spot will be forfeited. 


  • Tickets are sold out for this event. If you need assistance, contact

GEMSA EMS Memorial nominations requested by feb. 15

Each year at the GEMSA Awards Reception, we honor those in EMS who have passed away in the last year.  We are making plans to host the next awards reception on Tuesday, March 26, 2024 in conjunction with the 2024 GEMSA Directors & Leadership Conference at Lake Lanier.  Event details can be found on our awards reception page here (when available).

If you know of someone in EMS who has passed away between February 2023-February 2024, please submit their information using the button to our our online form below.

Please submit your nomination/form by Feb. 15, 2024.

Thanks for your help in remembering our fellow brothers and sisters in EMS.


2023 Georgia EMS Award Nominees

All nominees are listed below.  The top finalists for each category will be recognized at the reception before the winner is announced.  If you have any questions, contact

Dr. J. Jeffrey Marshall Excellence in Emergency Cardiac Care

  • Deonte Griggs & Westgarth Emmah
  • Brandi Angel Harris
  • Cristy Harris, Megan Dozier
  • Timothy Justice
  • Chris Quigg

Tim Peebles Champion of Children Excellence and Advocacy Award

  • Darby Hopper & Daniel Herring
  • David A. Miller
  • Randall Townley

Charles B. Gillespie, MD, Distinguished Georgia E.M.S. Medical Director Award

  • Dr. John Kevin Hardwell
  • Dr. Mark Waterman

Georgia EMS Director of the Year Award

  • Jeffrey D. Adams
  • Michael L. Carnes
  • Robby Hill
  • Freddy Howell
  • Michael C. Johnson, Jr.
  • George Joiner
  • Jason Lewis
  • Thomas Perry
  • Abb Preston
  • Salvatore J. Scarpa
  • Anna Sheridan
  • Nate Sullivan

Georgia EMS Educator of the Year Award

  • Greg Goedert
  • Jason D. Hurst
  • Jed Jarrett
  • Christopher Johnson
  • Ryan Jones
  • Jeremy Menzel
  • Corey Monroe
  • Tracie "Rusty" Naylor-Griffin
  • Vandora Steiner
  • Keila Stewart
  • Richard Wheat
  • Kristi Wigington

Georgia EMT of the Year Award

  • Brock Amerson
  • Macey Eickelberry
  • Jaden Fortman
  • Bayley Frank
  • Jim Parish
  • Amber Vaughn

Georgia Paramedic of the Year Award

  • Sara Catherine Brown
  • Richard Shane Foster
  • Toneka Griffin
  • Jason Harmsen
  • Dusty Johnson
  • Juli Maxwell
  • Michael Blake Mote
  • Corey Rockett
  • Brittany Stephens
  • Beau Witcher

Georgia Emergency Medical Service of the Year Award

  • Air Evac Lifeteam
  • Atrium Health Floyd
  • Chariot Medical Transport Services
  • Cherokee County Fire & Emergency Services
  • Dodge County EMS
  • Rabun County Emergency Medical Services
  • Taylor County EMS

Dr. John B. O’Neal, III EMS Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Richard Elliott
  • Jason Harmsen
  • Rebecca Hill
  • Patricia Hotz
  • Don Taylor
  • Jim Wood

Mary Beth Bowns Excellence in Trauma Care Award

  • Ameripro EMS, Airlifa GA and Upson County SO Deputies
  • Brian Bailey & Marvin Ledgister
  • Logan Scott, Asa Blue & Jonathan Corbitt
  • Brandi Harris & Matthew Ross
  • Ben Fleming, Amber Eason
  • Richard Starkey and Hunter Robinson

Dr. Zeb L. Burrell, Jr. Distinguished Service Award

  • Kelly Buddenhagen
  • Robby Hill
Joe Lane Cox Excellence in EMS Award
  • Jason Grady
  • Brittany Holcomb

Dr. Joseph E. Simon & Jeff Hackney Pediatric Award of Excellence

  • Caleb Croft
  • Brian Garner
  • Kaitlyn King
  • Bryan O'Kelley
  • Brittany Stephens, RJ Hovis
  • JT Schandolph, Braxton Pryor, Morgan Surrett

GEMSA Awards Committee:

  • Secunda Chandler, Floyd EMS
  • Thomas Doyle, Atrium Health Navicent
  • Erick Giraldo, Northeast Georgia Medical Center

The mission of the Georgia Emergency Medical Services Association is to advocate for the emergency medical provider, develop educational programs, liaison activities, provider benefit programs, and improvements to the Emergency Medical Service System in Georgia.

Georgia EMS Association  |  PO Box 772  |  Morganton, GA 30560  | Contact us

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software